In Sitecore, you can lock the current version of the item you are working on to prevent other users from editing the same item at the same time. If the item that you want to edit is already locked, you cannot edit it, you can only view it. When you have finished editing the item, you must unlock the item to make it available to other users again.
A Sitecore administrator can have the authority to edit another user’s locked items. Therefore, an administrator and another user can edit an item at the same time. If a user saves changes to an item, and another user saves changes to the same item afterwards, a notification appears, asking the user if the previously saved changes should be overwritten.
Important
Locking an item does not keep it from being published. If you are working on an item and you want to keep it from being published, you need to set up the publishing restrictions for the item.
Lock an Item
To lock an item manually:
- In the Content Editor or the Experience Editor, navigate to the item or page that you want to edit.
- In the Content Editor, on the Home tab, click Edit to lock the item.

-
- In the Experience Editor, on the Home tab, in the Edit group, click Lock.

2. When you are finished editing the item, make sure to unlock the item again.
Unlock an Item
To unlock an item
-
- To see a list of the items that are locked by you, or to unlock one or more items:
- In the Content Editor, on the Review tab, in the Locks group, click My Items.
- To see a list of the items that are locked by you, or to unlock one or more items:

-
-
- In the Experience Editor, on the Home tab, in the Edit group, click My Items.
-

-
- In the My Items dialog box, select the items that you want to unlock and click Unlock. To unlock all items at the same time, click Unlock All.
